top of page

Naming our Blog & Box

Right along the lines of the Ups & Downs the Good & Bad the Ins & Out

(get the drift ? ) .

I've been feeling for Chinese food lately so exactly as the saying goes....You are what you think so tada just like that ......the naming of our Blog !

The Sweet & Sour of Life

Hi World,

I've probably started another blog some years ago somewhere over there in Blogsville but I'm pretty sure I do not recall the name or the password...anyways !

Nice to meet you, my name is Marsha and I happen to be THE most RANDOM person you will EVER meet !

Sugarplum Box is now One Year old ( jumps up and down and does the butterfly dance) and I wanted to ....up to the very big #SecretDay give you a litle insight of how we REALLY started...and where we're heading with God's Grace.

Over the upcoming weeks, each Saturday I'll make a post directly related to the Sugarplum Box story . Sprinkled with - im pretty sure randomness thereafter....sooooo.

Let's start at - How we came by the name - Sugarplum Box ??

It's something we kinda got in the habit of doing...myself (Hair Honey) and good friend (Bella Beautiful) at nights on the tele. We would talk about all the happenings in the hair industry both locally and internationally and bounce ideas back and forth of things we wanted to do to "step it up a knotch"

I was by then a .....I wouldnt exactly say FAN (just then) ...I was more Extremely curious and intrigued by the uniqueness of subscription boxes specifically Curlbox and a few dozens more.

Let's use Curlbox as an example:

1. First I would watch the unboxing videos. The brands featured that her subscribers loved were the brands I reached out to for our Hair Honey store

2. I marvelled at how these brands were getting THE BEST free advertising any startup company or any company for that matter would up to a decade ago pay major bucks for in 15 seconds TV & Radio slots with Major stars. Not to mention Billboards and Magazine ads. Trade that all in today for honest reviews, picture grids and flipgrams that translated to thousands of products flying off the beauty store shelves

3. I Love Pink Tissue - huge sucker for pretty packaging

and

4. I Loved seeing people happy - Like in Real Life (inserts Jamaican slang that cracks me up)

I'm sure that list could go much longer but remember - Im random - I'll tangent into forever.

Being the obssesive thinker that I am - the wonders of subscription boxes never left my mind,,,,,the idea of duplicating the concept locally had me day dreaming 24hours. I recall having the naming discussion with Bella and saying I wanted something that was Sweet sounding and immediately meant something or someone that was loved. Had to be short and catchy with a Jamaican conotation while not alienatiing anyone else. I truly do not recall the ones we came up with,. Im sure we threw out a couple suggestions..but..nothing stood out until Bella said "Sugarplum ! "

BRAPS !

As she said it I was sold....never looked back.

Takeaway:

When naming/branding your "ventures" ....a good place to start is the story you want to tell. What exactly do you want your audience to think of when they hear or see your brand for the first time and everytime thereafter.

Also ALWAYS. ALWAYS bounce ideas around with friends, family members even strangers - you never know where or when the perfect inspiration will pop up.

Next Weeks Topic:

Two Guys and a Gyal (the dream team)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page