top of page

More than Just Milkshake....our chat with Chef Kelis


We caught up with the busy mom, wife , R&B best seller and recent graduate of the Cordon Bleu Academy Kelis for a quick chat recently. Her awesome line of sauces (Bounty & Full) safely made their way to Jamaica exclusively for our Tropical Jamboree Boxes. Without a doubt we were thrilled when she agreed to particpate in the box - imagine our faces when we got the oppurtunity to pop a few questions in as well.

Kelis has been nothing but gracious and accomodating - Major Fist Pump as well for her staff and doting husband Micheal that always followed up with courtesy phone calls - even while on their many food tours.

The reviews are in - Wild Cherry BBQ is BOSSY SAUCY !!

See highlights of our conversation below:

SPB: I feel as though your brand Bounty & Full has showed us a different side of Kelis. Forget the milkshake, it’s time to clear the refrigerator and make some home cooked chicken soup and creamy mac and cheese. Kelis tell us:

What are the first 80 minutes of your mornings REALLY like?

Kelis: Actually getting up with Knight (Kelis 5 year old son) getting him ready for school or what not. Then when I get a little me time, I do a little reading, praying then its off to the swarm of emails .....

SPB: We’ve stalked your pages since Rohan Marley made his post at the Natural Food Expo a few months ago …and even though we’re late to the party (it’s becoming a trend ) ….take us back ..

What was the “Ah-ha” moment that lead to Bounty and Full ? – Sauces and all….

Kelis: It’s been a very long process...not so much of an "Ah-Ha moment but in culinary school I realized sauces were my thing and that became my specialty. I then began to develop flavors that I love and figured why not !

SPB: I'm curious ....Sugarplum Box is a Jamaica based subscription box service – still pinching ourselves that we were able to make this collab work. You’ve been to Jamaica, I recall seeing you at our Reggae Sumfest a while back….

Is there anything that stands out in your memory from your visit(s) of our island home

Kelis: I vividly remember driving and stopping at ALL of the jerk stands. You can see the smoke for miles. It was delicious and I will never forget your [Jamaican] style of cooking.

SPB: Your cooking style (scotch bonnet peppers, thyme …..) – your jerk sauce and one of my FAVOURITE from your latest masterpiece of an album – a track titled Jerk Ribs

What’s the scoop behind your love for Jerk ?!?!?!

Kelis: It's seriously one of my favourite flavours ....I love spicy food

SPB: Your album FOOD almost seems like a different direction as well. We,re till loving Milkshake and Bossy .....this album however felt sultry, organic, hearty , full bodied…

How much fun was it to create independent of labels?

Kelis: I’ve always been obsessed and given free reign to create on all my albums. This album was a great experience for soooooo many reasons.

SPB: Again – Thank You Kindly for being so gracious with what seems like back to back requests from our team. Wishing you all the best and success with all your ventures – those now on the plate and the ones to come. We cannot wait for the cook book to drop. Last one for the road just for our subscriber and in keeping with our Summer theme. I’m sure a bottle of Bounty and Full sauce is in your handbag and it will surely be in ours as well.

What one (other) item is a MUST HAVE FOR SUMMER ?

Kelis: A fantastic grill. I’ve fallen in love with “The Big Green Egg” – it smokes, bakes, grills everything! Summer time should be spent outside cooking with family and people you love!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page